Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Album Review: Moving Mountains - Moving Mountains

Album Rating: B+
Nighttime driving albums have always been a soft-spot of mine. Those certain records that just flow perfectly with the flowing of lights and the cool wind breezing through cracked windows. It is albums like these that stick with you and end up being a part of the soundtrack of the many nights of your youth. Moving Mountains' self-titled is an album that is on the brink of becoming one of those special records. Within itself is a self-contained encapsulation of a certain feeling. The music is fleeting and loose, but grips itself onto your memory, creating blurred recollections when recalled.

The first thing that makes Moving Mountains' new album stand out  amongst the myriad of other alternative records this year is the production. Acoustic guitars are prevalent, but never overbearing. Whether it's the simplistic fingerpicking on "Under A Falling Sky," or the charming strumming of "Chords," Moving Mountains use acoustic guitar to perfectly accent their electric stylization. The electric guitars are cutting and tight, and distortion is never overused. The current trend in records this year is muddiness, and Moving Mountains stays clear of that zone, and it works very well. The vocals are mixed in with the instruments also, not floating on top. This creates a well-crafted blend that is very easy on the ears, and soothing to listen to, even during louder songs.

At only nine songs in length, Moving Mountains may seem like a short album, but it is a perfect length with songs ranging from shorter, softer pieces to length, almost post-rock songs. The longer songs never drag on though, and the instrumentation is concise and creative. The mid-point of the album, occurring on "Eastern Leaves," is a high mark, especially with guest vocals from Evan Weiss that accentuate the song and cap it off.

Moving Mountains fits the fall season of which it is being released and will be an often played record for the cooler nights to come. Gregory Dunn's vocals are airy and soft, reminiscent of early-00's alternative bands such as Mae and Copeland. It is a missed form of singing, that actually shows vocal skill, and it is fresh to hear again. His lyrics are heartfelt and form foggy images that match the almost atmospheric music.

Moving Mountains show real promise and have created an album that while may not be an instant classic, will be a grower on anyone who gives it a spin.


Track list:

1. Swing Set
2. Burn Pile
3. Hands
4. Seasonal
5. Eastern Leaves
6. Hudson
7. Under A Falling Sky
8. Chords
9. Apsides

No comments:

Post a Comment